Embraced by the Light…

 
 
 
A few months after the loss of my Mother, a friend sent me a book…it was "Embraced by the Light" by Betty Eadie.  I read the book and found much comfort in the "near-death" experience that Betty Eadie had written about.  A few years later, while working in ICU at  Fitzsimons Army Medical Center in Colorado, I spoke with a young pediatrician who was in the ICU.  He had experienced a near-death experience during a full cardiac arrest.  He said, "It was a beautiful Light and I felt peace and full of love.  I didn’t want to come back."  A week later, he had another cardiac arrest and this time he did not come back.  I remembered his words and I thought to myself that he had gone on to the Light.
 
Embraced by the Light
By Betty Eadie
 
A quote from the book as follows:
 

"On November 18, 1973, Betty Eadie died from complications due to a partial-hysterectomy surgery. After being restored to life, Betty suffered with depression – so painful was her separation from the light of love she experienced during her moments of clinical death. Twenty years later, after sharing her story with family and friends, and with critically ill cancer patients, Betty was urged to write her experience so that a wider audience might share its beauty. In 1992, Embraced by the Light was published by a small press out of Carson City, Nevada. Embraced became a permanent fixture on the New York Times Bestsellers list, spending more than a year at number one."

The book gave me comfort after the death of my parents.  I read it again after I lost my Michael…and once again the book gave me the spiritual faith to know without question that there is life after death.   It helped me to go on…it brought a healing to my heart and my soul…and Today I found  Betty Eadie’s book "Embraced by the Light" carefully packed in a box from my move from Colorado to Florida.    I sat in my chair on the Lanai and sipped ice tea while I   began reading it once more….The comfort that can be found within the pages of Betty’s book for those of us who have lost a loved one leaves me at a loss for words.  I can only say that it brought me the gift of sweet peace within my heart.  

For those of you who are experiencing grief of the loss of a loved one, if you get a chance, I strongly urge you to read Betty’s book.  May it bring to you the gentle healing…the soul peace that I have found.

May it Be…  

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jorge
    May 27, 2007 @ 23:46:40

    It’s nice to have friends who share their favorite reading material with you :-) Be well,
    J.

    Reply

  2. Marge
    May 28, 2007 @ 12:23:51

     
    Sandra,
    I have read Ms. Eadie’s book and felt much the same way as a result.
    My Mom died a few months ago, so my loss is still very new.
    A new awareness has begun to enter into my grieving process:
    Mom didn’t "go away". She’s never been closer to me than she is now (and your beloved Michael has never been closer to you than he is now).
    Sometimes I forget this.
    Your words here just reminded me…thank you for that.
    I needed that reassurance more than you may know.
    Always,
    Marge

    Reply

  3. Dean and Sheila
    May 30, 2007 @ 00:24:59

    Sandy,  I think I will check out this book.  If you liked it I am sure that I will.   Thank you for calling me tonight.  It was so wonderful to hear from you!  Have a safe and relaxing trip.   Take good care of yourself.  Hug Deb and family for me.  I love you!  Love, SHEILA

    Reply

  4. Deanna
    Jan 20, 2009 @ 09:25:15

    Embraced By The Light was the best book I ever read. You really felt everything she wrote about.

    Reply

Leave a comment